Environmental Sociology as a subdiscipline within Sociology explores the various forms of interaction between human society and the environment. Environmental Sociologists seek to understand a variety of topics, including agrifood systems, environmentalism as a social movement, the ways in which societal members perceive environmental problems, the origins of human-induced environmental decline, the relationship between population dynamics, health, and the environment, and the role that elites play in harming the environment.
Environmental sociology is the study of interactions between societies and their natural environment. The field emphasizes the social factors that influence environmental resource management and cause environmental issues, the processes by which these environmental problems are socially constructed and define as social issues, and societal responses to these problems.
Cite the Definition of Environmental Sociology
ASA – American Sociological Association (5th edition)
Bell, Kenton, ed. 2013. “environmental sociology.” In Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Retrieved July 26, 2023 (https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/).
APA – American Psychological Association (6th edition)
environmental sociology. (2013). In K. Bell (Ed.), Open education sociology dictionary. Retrieved from https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/
Bell, Kenton, ed. 2013. “environmental sociology.” In Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Accessed July 26, 2023. https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/.
MLA – Modern Language Association (7th edition)
“environmental sociology.” Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Ed. Kenton Bell. 2013. Web. 26 Jul. 2023. https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/.
Environmental sociology is the study of interactions between societies and their natural environment. The field emphasizes the social factors that influence environmental resource management and cause environmental issues, the processes by which these environmental problems are socially constructed and define as social issues, and societal responses to these problems.
Cite the Definition of Environmental Sociology
ASA – American Sociological Association (5th edition)
Bell, Kenton, ed. 2013. “environmental sociology.” In Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Retrieved July 26, 2023 (https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/).
APA – American Psychological Association (6th edition)
environmental sociology. (2013). In K. Bell (Ed.), Open education sociology dictionary. Retrieved from https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/
Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date – Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition)
Bell, Kenton, ed. 2013. “environmental sociology.” In Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Accessed July 26, 2023. https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/.
MLA – Modern Language Association (7th edition)
“environmental sociology.” Open Education Sociology Dictionary. Ed. Kenton Bell. 2013. Web. 26 Jul. 2023. https://sociologydictionary.org/environmental-sociology/.